16 Quick and Easy Tips to Increase AdSense CPC
Is AdSense working for you? Are you frustrated that you can't make much money with AdSense despite your best efforts? I wonder if you will ever make money from your blog? Well, keep on reading, I'm going to show you how to increase your AdSense CPC quickly and easily .
But first, let's quickly cover the basics. CPC stands for Cost Per Click. what's this? This means that advertisers using the AdSense program pay Google every time someone clicks on their ad. When you join the AdSense network, you will place AdSense ads on your blog or web page and you will receive 68% of your advertising bid and Google will keep the rest.
So, if Google earns $4 for every click on a certain ad for a certain keyword, you will earn $2.72 every time a visitor to your website clicks on an ad that Google places on your web page.
Now, if you want to make real money from the AdSense program, then you have to work on maximizing your CPC. This means that your web page must have the right type of ads that will earn you the most money per click.
You cannot choose CPC for ads that appear on your blog. All you can do is design your website or blog so that Google will place higher CPC or higher value ads on your web pages. Google decides where to place ads using an automated system.
Ideally, you want more visitors to click on the ad than they just read your blog post and ignore the ad completely. You will need a higher CTR to increase your AdSense CPC. Is it clear enough?
So if you have a 4% click-through rate at a $1.5 CPC, which means 4 out of 100 visitors click on your ad, that's much better than a 2% CTR at a $2.40 CPC. With the first you will earn $20.40 per day if your daily traffic is 1000 visitors and with the second you will earn only $16.32 per day with 1000 visitors per day.
So it's not enough just to have a high CPC, you also need a high click-through rate. That's why, to make a lot of money from your blog, you should focus on increasing your AdSense CPC and CTR.
So, before we give you tips to increase AdSense CPC, let's try to understand why your current AdSense CPC is so low.
But first, let's quickly cover the basics. CPC stands for Cost Per Click. what's this? This means that advertisers using the AdSense program pay Google every time someone clicks on their ad. When you join the AdSense network, you will place AdSense ads on your blog or web page and you will receive 68% of your advertising bid and Google will keep the rest.
So, if Google earns $4 for every click on a certain ad for a certain keyword, you will earn $2.72 every time a visitor to your website clicks on an ad that Google places on your web page.
Now, if you want to make real money from the AdSense program, then you have to work on maximizing your CPC. This means that your web page must have the right type of ads that will earn you the most money per click.
You cannot choose CPC for ads that appear on your blog. All you can do is design your website or blog so that Google will place higher CPC or higher value ads on your web pages. Google decides where to place ads using an automated system.
Why Click Through Rate (CTR) Matters
There is one more important thing that you need to pay attention to in this context besides the CPC. This is called CTR or CTR. Click-through rate is the percentage of visitors who click on an ad on your web page.Ideally, you want more visitors to click on the ad than they just read your blog post and ignore the ad completely. You will need a higher CTR to increase your AdSense CPC. Is it clear enough?
So if you have a 4% click-through rate at a $1.5 CPC, which means 4 out of 100 visitors click on your ad, that's much better than a 2% CTR at a $2.40 CPC. With the first you will earn $20.40 per day if your daily traffic is 1000 visitors and with the second you will earn only $16.32 per day with 1000 visitors per day.
So it's not enough just to have a high CPC, you also need a high click-through rate. That's why, to make a lot of money from your blog, you should focus on increasing your AdSense CPC and CTR.
So, before we give you tips to increase AdSense CPC, let's try to understand why your current AdSense CPC is so low.
Reasons for low CPC on AdSense
- Niche
Your website or blog belongs to a less profitable niche where your audience doesn't click on ads. So if you have a blog that deals with politics, for example, it's not your fault if you have a low CTR, it could be related to your niche. On the other hand, real estate blogs have high click-through rates. - Geography
It has to do with where your audience is coming from. If most of your audience is in countries where clicks are cheap, you will also have a low CPC. - Mobile
Your site may not be optimized for mobile devices yet. Since the mobile-optimized update was released on April 21, 2015, Google has penalized non-mobile-optimized websites with lower SERP positions and lower CPC values. - Programmatic media purchases
Programmatic buying by advertisers has led to a sharp drop in revenue for many bloggers who rely on Google AdSense. There was nothing he could do about it. - Advertiser blocked
You may have blocked many advertisers for various reasons. You may have banned your competitors from advertising on your site, and you may have blocked some companies with whose policies you disagree. Well, the problem is that AdSense will penalize you for lower CPC . - videos
You may have a successful YouTube channel, but placing YouTube ads on your website or blog means that the money goes to YouTube, not AdSense. Hence, it has a lower cost per click. - bad aim
It's the advertiser's fault! They don't know how to target the right blog for their product or service. So, you have a blog about men's fashion, and for some odd reason, you get ads for women's fashion and accessories. Well, that's bad targeting of advertisers, not their fault, but lowers their CTR and CPC. - Economy
There's little you can do when your country or the world is in a recession and people aren't buying enough. Therefore, advertisers have no choice but to limit their marketing spend and your CPC suffers. - seasonal
It can be something seasonal. If you have a blog that provides Premier League predictions, you won't get many visitors in the off-season when there aren't any games. So during this time you will have a lower CPC. Likewise, if you promote gifts or greeting cards on your website, you will have a high CPC during the holiday season and a lower CPC for the rest of the year. - ad size
Not all ads are created equal. Some ads convert significantly more than others. Not having enough converting ads can lower your CPC. Pay attention to ad sizes – some sizes convert better. - Incorrect ad placement
Somehow, you've broken AdSense advertising rules without knowing it, and Google has been penalized for it. Google has strict advertising policies and disapproves of the practice by some publishers of tricking users into clicking on ads. This must be avoided at all costs.
Here are 16 quick and easy tips to increase your AdSense CPC.
- Optimize your content for high value keywords . Do your keyword research and identify the highest paying keywords in your niche. The way AdSense works is that advertisers bid on keywords. There are some keywords that get better bids and have a much higher value. These are the keywords you should focus on and optimize your content for.
There are some keywords that can cost $100 or more per click. Learn and incorporate in the most natural way for your content. In the US, the highest paying keywords fall into categories such as business services, liens, casinos, attorneys and wealth management . Create content that fits these popular niches and optimize your articles and blog posts for the highest paying keywords. - Focus on long tail keywords . It is not enough to have the highest paying keywords. You should look at SEO tools like Google Keyword Planner and SEMRush and identify the highest paying long-tail keyword phrases that are relevant to your readers. Include these keywords in your content. Be sure to use SEO best practices to optimize your content for these keywords, but stay natural, don't add keywords without regard to grammar and fluency.
- Create engaging, high-quality and profitable content . The quality of the content is the most important thing to pay attention to. You need to have a clear idea of what your readers are looking for and provide them with the right solution to their problem. You need to write content that creates value for target audiences seeking information in your niche. Content must be optimized for SEO and stand out in Google search results. The higher your traffic, the more people will read your content, the higher your AdSense CPC. So easy!
- Get the most out of the AdSense Ad Review Center . The AdSense Ad Review Center is a tool that allows you to view each ad so you can decide whether to block or show it on your web pages. This gives you a much higher level of control and visibility over the ads that appear on your website or blog. It gives you complete control over what products, services or brands are promoted on your website or blog. You may only use this tool to view ads from highly paid advertisers. Please note that not all AdSense ads are compatible with this tool. The Ad Review Center only allows you to block ads at the product level, not at the website level.
- Determine the best ad size . Correct ad size and placement ensures the best CPC. There are some ad sizes that are highly effective on certain platforms, such as mobile phones and tablets, but not as effective on others, such as laptops. Choose the best ad size for different platforms and experiment until you find a CPC that you are comfortable with.
- Use smart pricing to your advantage . Modern advertisers want higher ROI and real customers. Google understands this and accurately predicts ad conversion rates before deciding which ads to show and where to place them. It is based on the " Smart Pricing " model that Google uses today. You can use smart pricing to your advantage by showing relevant ads, driving high-quality traffic to your blog, and creating great content.
- Use competitor ad filters . The Competitor Ad Filter is similar in many ways to the Ad Review Center mentioned above. The purpose of this tool is to filter unwanted ads and prevent them from appearing on your site. You can use this tool to block ads from your competitors. You can block all AdSense accounts or specific domains. This doesn't affect your CPC much, but ensures that your competitors don't show their ads on your site. The last thing you want is for your customers to visit your competitor's site.
- Follow Google's recommendations for mobile optimization . Since April 21, 2015, Google has made mobile-friendliness of websites an important ranking factor in its algorithm. You need to optimize your website for mobile devices; otherwise, Google will severely punish you. You must have a responsive web design.
Advertisers love mobile-optimized websites. Some pay more for clicks on mobile than desktop, while others prefer to advertise exclusively on mobile. This is especially true for local businesses within a certain geographic area. So, to increase your CPC, make your site more mobile friendly. - Experiment, mix and match, try new things with your ads – Google AdSense has a special section called "Experiments" that lets you experiment with your ads. You can split different ad formats, try different advertisers, change font and background colors, change ad sizes, change color schemes, block specific ad categories, etc. and find out what works and what doesn't. If you are comfortable with something, stick with it for a long time.
- Use the Google ecosystem – Google loves publishers who are loyal to their platform. Join the Google ecosystem, be a part of it. This means being on Google+, using Google Webmaster Tools, creating a Google Business account, having your own YouTube channel, using Google Docs, etc. Spend more time on Google platform, use more Google resources to earn Google's trust. Earning Google's trust is a surefire way to get a higher CPC.
- Focus on a few high paying geographic areas . You should always focus on high CPC areas where advertisers pay more per click. So if your content targets an audience in the US, Sweden, Japan, Norway or the Netherlands, you will likely get a much higher CPC than in countries like India, South Africa, Bangladesh and Indonesia. You may want to buy a local domain address and create custom content for high CPC regions. You can even limit your geographic area to cities; For example, any content that focuses on New York, Dallas or London gets high paying ads.
- Use and disable information from Google Analytics and Google AdSense to better understand your web traffic . Both Analytics and AdSense will provide you with information about your web traffic, generated revenue and provide useful reports. Connect your Google Analytics and AdSense accounts to better understand your traffic and gain insight into audience behavior on your site: what gets the most clicks, where is your highest CPC traffic, etc.
- Show only relevant ads . You need to ensure that Google displays only the most relevant ads on your web pages. The way to do this is to make your content SEO friendly and easy for search engine bots to find. You can start by focusing on the basics like headers, meta tags, and formatting your content. Also turn off remarketing ads in favor of contextual ads. All of this can increase your CPC over time.
- Reduce the number of ad units on your blog . Try something different, like reducing the number of ad units on your blog. By lowering your bid, you can force advertisers to bid more for limited space, which can increase your CPC. It's all about making the mismatch between supply and demand work in your favour.
- Use the Featured Content feature in AdSense. Google has a content recommendation service called Recommended Content for AdSense . So it's only available to major publishers, but you can give it a try and see if you qualify or not. This includes replacing your local article recommendation engine with Google. The idea is to promote only the most relevant and profitable content on your website to your visitors.
- Allow post segmentation . Advertisers are always willing to pay more for quality publications. Google allows advertisers to target specific parts of your website or specific formats. This is called location targeting. To do this, you must segment ads into specific channels (up to 500 URLs) and provide advertisers with easy access to relevant content on your website.